I’m Going to Japan! In October!

20140221-234739.jpg

 

Its true! Its really happening! I recently received my acceptance packets and letters. And boy… there’s a lot of paperwork to be done, and documents to collect. Don’t worry, if you ever apply for study away, especially for a whole academic year, you’ll get lots of checklists and stacks of paper. Also be prepared to send lots of emails, and become stressed about money.

Even so, I’m so excited! Don’t let all the work stand in the way of the final stretch to go on your study abroad trip. I will be studying Japanese in an intensive Japanese Language Program with Culture Courses. I can’t wait to see how my language skill evolves. I know it will be a difficult year, mainly because I’ll be leaving my husband behind. However, we’ve been together a long time, he is 100% supportive, and we’ve been through worse :).

Regarding where I’m at in the process, I’m still gathering information for my student visa. Because I’m staying for longer than 90 days (this is the visa agreement with America) I have to apply for a student visa. I’m also applying for 2 scholarships. The first is called the Bridging Scholarship, and the second is the ever famous Gilman Scholarship. I’m writing and refining my essays and ordering transcripts. The Gilman gives me the biggest opportunity; I can receive up to $8,000 because I’m learning a critical need language. The bridging doesn’t require a follow on project like the Gilman does, so it won’t be as stressful to apply for. I couldn’t be happier these opportunities exist, because there’s no way I would be able to afford this otherwise.

I also need an insane amount of 1×2″ photos of myself. About 10, haha. I’ll be staying in the dorm and that accounts for half of that photo total. I chose the dorm with the meal plan, just because I want to live in the city, explore, and have a little more freedom. Its also considerably cheaper than living with a home stay family. Don’t get me wrong, I wish I could do that, but I’ve made peace and I’m just happy to even have the OPTION of going to Japan.

Its pretty surreal and it won’t feel real until I’m finished with paperwork, my tickets, and bags packed. I’m so elated, I don’t really know how to express the gratitude to the staff at my school for always being so accessible, knowledgable, and I’m in awe at how quickly they respond and help me with any problem. I transferred to my school in August with my Associates and I already have my Individualized Major approved and am accepted to my study abroad program. WHEW! Talk about a whirlwind experience. I’m always trying to push myself to live my fullest and best life.

Is anybody else studying abroad? Anybody have questions for me? Let me know! I’d love to know what you want to hear about!

Also, soon I plan on adding some Japanese to these posts, when I feel like I can express myself well enough.

ブリタニ

Leave a Reply

