The Countdown Begins

Hello all!

As of today’s date, I have approx. 68 days till I leave on my flight for Japan. Ever since I received the Gilman Scholarship, time has flown by. I purchased my ticket through American Airlines, and chose both seats for the 2 legs of my flight! They’re both window seats and in a small 2 person row. No getting stuck in the middle of the row during the 13 hour flight! I can’t stress enough what this scholarship has made possible for me.

Here’s my mini itinerary:

October 5th/6th
7:30am- 8:30am to Dallas Ft. Worth
10:30am-2:00pm Dallas Ft. Worth to Tokyo

However, I’m getting a bit ahead of myself. The next item on my checklist is traveling to Chicago to get my visa paperwork and some money exchanged from dollars to yen. I’m thinking about taking the train, and blogging about my trip there to show you guys how to get a visa once the Japanese government approves you. I’m still awaiting news from my host school and for my paperwork to be sent. For my flight I have to drive 3 hours to a nearby city for my international flight. So there are two small trips ahead of me before I leave for the land of the rising sun.

My checklist keeps getting smaller and smaller. I’ve had this list for about a year now, and once upon a time this felt like a hard and impossible trip, it now lives just beyond my fingertip’s reach. I have lots of blog posts to queue, from how to prepare your essay for the Gilman Scholarship to what you need to have prepared as a college student to plan to go abroad. I’d also like to blog about maintaining a long distance relationship with my husband, since I know this is one thing that prevents many men and women from traveling and following their dreams. I want this blog to be a place where you can get information, but also lose yourself in language, travel, and imagery.

Here is my small checklist during these final two months of prep work:

  1. Figure out what to use for luggage.
  2. Plan for the Chicago Trip ($, Hotel, etc.)
  3. Queue Blog posts about Gilman, and Study Away Checklist.
  4. Pack!!
  5. Plan trip to airport/hotel.
  6. Freak Out

Thanks for sticking with me!

ブリタニ

 

Leave a Reply

