Meiji Jingu Shrine

Saturday October 11, 2014

We went to Meiji Jingu Shrine. It’s one thing to study this in your classroom in America and see photos. Its a totally different thing to actually be there. We stepped off the train and walked to Harajuku. The Shrine is just a short walk from there. Everyone had their cameras out before we even saw it.

This shrine is a peaceful oasis in the midst of a booming, modern fashion district. While at the shrine, the dull roar of the city melted away as we walked on the long gravely path to the shrine’s entrance. I remembered what I had studied in America, how this shrine houses the largest wooden Torii gate in Japan. Seeing it in person was outstanding. It was so beautiful. We all walked to the left, bowed, and then began our walk to the shrine. I’ll let the video do most of the talking here, as I can’t even describe how beautiful it was.

We also encountered many weddings, and girls being brought to the shrine for good luck on certain birthdays. I believe its 3, 5, and 7th birthdays, but correct me if I’m wrong. I felt like I was walking into a textbook, into somebody else’s life, into the past. It’s one thing to study something, but to really understand it, you have to experience it. Somebody in our group said, “If you cry, I won’t blame you.” I was so entranced, I didn’t cry, but I felt my world opening up.

Thanks for reading! Any thoughts? Let me know!

ブリタニ

 

Leave a Reply

